1000 miles day 1

I decided this year that I will do the “1000 miles in 2017 challenge”, details of which can be found HERE with a Facebook group to join in with HERE. I also want to do more with Black & White photography, and to use my iPhone apps which were so neglected last year when I did my 366 with the FujiX-T1. I’m not really an phone-photographer and much prefer the Fuji, but the walking is of equal importance and I don’t want to be hindered with camera & lenses. In order to complete the 1000 miles I need to average 2.75 miles per day, but some days will need to do more in order to make up for shorter walks at this time of year when it gets dark early and I’ll be walking after work in the late afternoon. I have an app on the phone which measures my mileage and steps automatically, but am also using an app Map My Walk which gives details of your route and also lots of other bits and bobs.

Yesterday I had a limited time to walk as we went out to visit Phil’s sister for the afternoon and evening, but got my average done.

Some shots along the way.

Not the best of roads

Still a few red berries about, but not many colours to catch the eye.

Ominous clouds!

A panoramic view

One of the signposts, I turned left, ended up going in a circle back to here then turned right!

Bridge over a railway and view

obstacle of wateriness

2.8miles

24 Comments Add yours

  1. beetleypete says:

    Some of those scenes are a lot like my walks with Ollie. At least it was dry today, though very cold. I have just got back myself, having been out walking around since 1:50 pm. No idea how many steps or miles, but enough. I didn’t sit down once today, and walking in my new heavy wellingtons has made me realise how much I prefer walking in the summer.
    Well done, FR.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Pete, just doing my 2nd post now for todays walk, which didn’t go quite as well!

      Like

  2. -N- says:

    Well, there you go! A good way to start the year, multi-task, get off the duff, and so on. You might also get a Fitbit – it has some cool stuff on it and actually nags you to put in at least 250 steps / hour. I have one, and it works great; additionally, it syncs with your phone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I had a look at them but am a bit put off by the cost 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. -N- says:

        Certainly do understand the cost. For us – especially the DH couch potato – they are very helpful. He is actually moving!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I am liking the sound of this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MarySmyth says:

    Love, love the one of the bridge over the railroad. Great project BTW! I so admire your ability to stick to projects!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers Mary fingers crossed I make it. 😊

      Like

  5. This makes my 1 mile per day look pretty puddly! Good luck – and I can’t wait to see all the pics!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers Sarah it’s a bit daunting really, wish it was 1 mile! Will be posting the pics on this blog and not using the other as much for now do hit the follow button to get the daily post 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not sure 1,000 miles would be realistic for us with winter and work – maybe if one were milder, it would be easier. Choppy and I regularly do 2.6 miles over the course of a day during spring, summer and fall. Then winter strikes, and getting in 1.3 miles gets difficult with the lack of sunlight and absurd Wisconsin cold.

        I’ll be cheering you on to 1,000 from here!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks! I need all the cheering I can get!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. enmanscamera says:

    Great photos! I can see that you are off to a great walk. Willie Nelson singing, “On the Road Again” is going through my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha more like WHitesnake ‘Here I go again” 🙂 I’ve completed 3 so far. if you press on the follow button they’ll come up in your reader. Must say I’m hating the iPhone and much prefer my Fuji, can see that change coming!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. enmanscamera says:

        Ok. I will mention that I refuse to use my iPhone as a camera except. To remember something at the hardware store or to copy a note or address. I have great cameras that do such a spectacular job.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know, I can see me changing my mind on this.

        Like

  7. steviegill says:

    Some lovely shots! Good luck with the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I’ll need it!

      Like

  8. Francis.R. says:

    Sounds very interesting. To be honest I had never heard of something like that but has to be a trend there in the Northern world. Good luck dear fragglerocking : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sadly I gave up after 2 weeks as I got ill and though am better now have lost the impetus to start again. 😕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Francis.R. says:

        Well, it’s nice to know that you are better, that’s the important.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

